Friends of Children Award


This is an award presented to an administrator or community leader who has:


  • Supported and advocated for school social work services.

  • Been involved in the development of an innovative program(s) to enhance the delivery of services to students and families in the school/community environment.

  • Been actively involved in a civic or youth organization or board that positively impacts students and families.


The prestige of the Award is such that it is not necessarily awarded on an annual basis. The recipient is recognized at the SSWAG Spring Conference.



Past Friend of Children Award Recipients


1992 Senator Nathan Deal

1998 Representative Carolyn Hugley

2002 Jane Fonda, GAPP

2003 Mary Smith, Dalton Public Schools

2006 Dr. Marti Giddings, Valdosta State University

2008 Delthia T. Conrad, Coastal Plains RESA

2010 Carol Johnson, United Way of South Georgia

2011 Sue Fort, NASW of Georgia

2012 Assistance League of Atlanta Operation School Bell

2014 Dr. Garry W. McGiboney, Associate Superintendent of Policy Georgia Department of Education

 2016 Maria Grovner

Years Unknown

Bibb County School Resource Officers

Robert Chatman, Fulton Co. Schools Director of SSWs

Wendy Clifton, NASW Lobbyist

Senator Nan Orrack