2018 SSWAG Day at the Capitol

Updated: Jul 24, 2018

The first official SSWAG Day at the Capitol took place on March 22, 2018 on the South Wing of the State Capitol on the Second Floor from 1:00pm to 2:00pm. The day began with a beautiful inspiration from Ana Cordeiro who gave her testimony of being an immigrant who came to the United States and became a Social Worker working in the School system. We were followed by the welcome and purpose by our own State President, Dr. Terriyln Rivers-Cannon. Patrick Hartigan from the SSWAG Legislative Committee gave the SSWAG Legislative Update and Michelle Blackburn our 2017 School Social Worker of the Year gave the keynote speech.

We knew that March 22nd was committee day on Capitol Hill and we were not expecting any legislatures to greet us, but my childhood friend, GA House of Representative Brian Prince from District 127 kept his promise to visit me on our day and brought some legislative friends. We heard impromptu greetings from Representative Brian Prince, Senate Minority Leader Steve Henson and GA State Senator Lester Jackson who is the Chairman of the GA Legislative Black Caucus while they were on a break from their committee meetings. Representative Prince also surprised us by allowing us to visit the coveted House of Representative Chambers and explained how the House makes decisions.

We were than given an update of various legislative decisions from our lobbyist Helen Sloat with Nelson, Mullins & Scarborough LLP. Ms. Sloat than allowed us to visit the Education committee meeting and meet GA House of Representative Brooks Coleman the Chairman of the Education Committee and writer of the House Resolution 1604 recognizing SSWAG Day at the Capitol.

We took our Photo on the steps of the Capitol with Governor Nathan Deal with our Proclamation that he presented us. Dr. Rivers-Cannon was presented the GA House of Representative Resolution by the SSWAG Day at the Capitol Chairman. We had approximately twenty-five SSWAG members in attendance including our former State President Cynthia Turner.